Book Review: Karmic Hearts

 

KARMIC HEARTS

Author: Jhing Bautista

Genre: Fantasy

Publication Date: May 9, 2017

Publisher: Popfiction Books @ Summt Media
Story link:

 

 

SYNOPSIS

Karmina Joan made a wish on an old well on the night of Valentine’s. The next day, she found herself seeing red strings coming out of people’s fingers. And if that’s not freaky enough, some guy just randomly came up to her and introduced himself as Cupid.

Cupid instructed her to fill the jar he gave her with six pairs of connected hearts before the next Valentine’s Day. If she succeeds, she will return to normal and get her own connecting string back. But if she fails, she will take his place as a matchmaker… forever.

Will she succeed or will she set aside the task for her own feelings?

“Soul mates. Mr. Right. Sparks. Happy Endings. Destiny… they exist.”

Title
Karmic-something related to Karma
I am actually thinking why is this entitled Karmic Hearts. At may part sa story na nabasa ko na each of us have our own ‘karma‘. Our haven. Our sanctuary. May mga tao sa mundo na nakatadhana para pahirapan, pasayahin o pasakitan tayo. All people around us have different purposes they should fulfill in our life. May rason ang existence ng bawat tao. Ang maybe this is why its entitled ‘Karmic Hearts‘.

Plot

One word: Unpredictable.

Insights
Deep thought. Deep meanings. I’m actually amazed on the way of thinking of the author, she sees things in a different way, in a deeper manner. Mga bagay na akala ko mahirap idefend pero kapag nag-argue na si Cupid at Mina mapapanganga nalang ako dahil ang galing at ang ganda ng pagkakapresent nila ng arguments, yung tipong mapapa-agree ka nalang din. (Debater ba si ate Jhing?)

I’ve learned alot. Though its genre is fantasy, the situation actually presents the reality among people who fall in/out of love, how they deny their feelings and how hard it is to commit.

I do believe in destiny. I believe that life is predestined but we were equipped with the will to do what we want and to decide in our own. And no matter how many times we’d failed to find our true love, we should not be afraid of trying because in time we’ll be able to feel it, the feeling of belongingness and the feeling that will last eternally.

RATING

*WARNING: SPOILERS*

Questions:
At the end I was like:
Anong nangyari sa characters?
Bakit buhay pa si Lola?
Bakit di na si Kuya Sic at Ate Aly?
Naaalala ni Mina ang nangyari pero di niya maalala si Cupid? (yung angel, hindi yung sa kwentong sinulat niya)

So many questions unanswered so definitely, I’ll read Remembering Cupid. I don’t want to be left hanging.

TO JHING BAUTISTA

This is your first story that I’ve read. I salute you…alot. You’ve opened my mind to different possibilities. This story has taught me so many lessons in life. I never regret spending my time reading your story because I know this story is worth to read. Sayang at ngayon lang kita nakilala. Oh let me restate that, matagal ko na alam na nag-eexist ka pero sayang at ngayon ko lang binasa story mo. You’re an amazing writer! And I know that from now on I’ll be your supporter. I’ll read your remaining stories to know you more. More power ate jhing! 👼💞

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Karmic Hearts

  1. Pingback: 3rd Day – Eliza's Blog

Leave a comment